First Annual Staff Appreciation Celebration Held

It's not often that caregivers are cared for and nurturers are nurtured. However, close to 150 people witnessed such an event at the First Annual Staff Appreciation Celebration held on May 10 at North Caroline High School.

Special educators and staff of Caroline County Public Schools who work with children with disabilities were recognized and thanked in a big way. Parents and students nominated 30 special educators and staff throughout the entire county for their care and support of children with special needs.

President of the Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee (SECAC) and emcee Gayland Carlisle, Supervisor of Education Elizabeth Anthony and Coordinator of Special Education Robin Fox recognized the following educators and staff:

Kimberly Bermudez, Mary Robbins,April Jones & Adrianna Goddard - Family Support Center Child Development assistant teachers

Vanessa Reyes - Family Support Center family advocate

June Higgins - Infant & Toddler speech

Britney Casper - Greensboro Elementary instructional assistant

Lyn Fitzgerald - Greensboro Elementary school nurse

Sarah Crebs & Erin Alexander - Special education teachers

Deanna Waters - Greensboro Elementary teacher

Coleen Lynn - Federalsburg Elementary mental health

Kristine Neville & Joseph Colleli - Colonel Richardson Middle special education teachers

Tammy Tarr, Susan Long & Cheryl Largent - Colonel Richardson Middle instructional assistants

Stacie Albe - Colonel Richardson Middle speech

Debbie Coles, Linda Chalupa, Dorthea Stogdill & Fred Brummell - Transportation

Emily McMorris - Lockerman Middle special education teacher

Diane Garey - Colonel Richardson High special education teacher

Melanie Brittingham & Keri Marshall - North Caroline High special education teachers

Denise Meade - North Caroline High speech

Thomas Robbins & Robert Blakely - North Caroline High transition

There were many volunteers whose loving hands made this event possible but special thanks go to the elementary and high school students with disabilities who made pinwheel center pieces for the tables.

Because of the generosity of donors, our special educators and staff felt genuinely appreciated and deeply touched. Sincerest thanks go to the Community Partners:

Preston Ford, Inc., Choptank Electric Cooperative, Denton Walmart, MJS Repair, Bargain Beverage, Petco, Sal's Pizza & Restaurant, Market Street Public House, Blough's Seafood, Dunkin Donuts, 404 Tap House, Port Discovery, Luisa Carlisle, Mary Baker, Loretta Ratz, Linda Maxwell, Lani Schumacher, 404 Auto Repair, Nuttle Builders Inc., Sam's Club, Centreville Acme, China House, Tilghman Island Country Store, Cynda Hill, DDS; Auto Zone, Dominos, Pizza Empire, Beat it Pinatas by Trish Jobst, Dawn Caley, Francisco Dias, Kris Neville, Loretta Johnson, Cindy Sharer and Vincent Bianco.

Our community partners helped make our celebration fun, foundation-building, and a community bonding triumph. The self esteem boost that this celebration has given our students, parents, staff and special educators is priceless. The celebration will become an annual event that takes community partners to make a choice to be part of, to take a chance to make an impact in someone's life.