North Caroline High School Students Win Math Competition

North Caroline High School students Emma Murray, Melvin Williams and Hunter Geisel represented North Caroline High School and Caroline County Public Schools well at the 32nd Annual Eastern Shore High School Mathematics Competition on November 5 at Salisbury University. The three students took home the award for the first place team; besting teams from other Delmarva area high schools.

Hunter Geisel was also recognized as the first place winner in the individual competition. The team sponsor is mathematics teacher Mike Miller.

The event provides a fun and challenging mathematics competition focused on both individual and cooperative achievement. High schools from throughout Delmarva may enter teams of up to three students in the competition.

The competition consists of two parts, according to the Salisbury University Mathematics and Computer Science Department, the team round and the individual round.

The team round presents each school’s team with challenging, open-ended problems. To solve these problems, the team members are encouraged to work together. Each team is to provide complete solutions to as many problems as possible, including justification of all steps and clear, concise explanations. The use of calculators is permitted during the team round.

In the individual round, each student, working independently, must answer twenty multiple-choice questions. Winners are chosen based on the number of questions answered correctly; there is no penalty for incorrect answers. The use of calculators is not permitted during the individual round.

Subject areas covered by contest questions include: algebra, geometry, functions and functional notation, exponents and logarithms, trigonometry, probability and statistics, logic and set theory, arithmetic sequences, geometric series, and number theory.

The students received certificates and gift cards for their win. In addition, the school received a $200 gift certificate for mathematics resources.

Delmarva Power and the Klein G. and Mary Lee Leister Foundation sponsor the mathematics competition.