Board Approves Budget at June Board Meeting

The Caroline County Board of Education approved a $63.8 million budget during the June 2 Board of Education meeting. The budget includes $12.5 million in unrestricted revenue from the Caroline County Commissioners, up $137,889 from last year's budget. The increase is due to the increase of 59 new students from last year, meaning the county is giving the school system maintenance of effort.

In addition, the county will be funding their share of the teacher's pension shift, $1.1 million, an increase of $189,806 over the previous year. Unrestricted state revenues for FY 2016 will be $49 million, which represents an increase of $1.6 million. The overall increase to the operating budget for FY 2016 is $2.3 million.

Interim Superinendent said the majority of the increase in funding will be taken up by same services such as health insurance. There are also a number of new positions. "I feel very good about where we are," said Mr. Nagel.

"There are things that will make a big difference to students," said Board President Mr. Tolbert Rowe.

The board of education also approved the following items during the meeting:

  • Special Education Staffing Plan for 2015-2016
  • Administrative Appointment of Principal - Mrs. Christal Harkowa was approved as the principal of Colonel Richardson High School. She is currently the assistant principal at CRHS.
  • Administrative Appointments - Mr. Matthew Shepler, currently the dean of students at CRHS, was approved as the CRHS assistant principal. Mr. Mark Cauffman, currently technology teacher specialist, was approved as a coordinator of technology.
  • Town water connection for Greensboro Elementary School - the school currently has its own well and the board approved hooking the school up to the Greensboro town water supply. The $38,537 project will be paid for by the state of Maryland Public School Aging Schools Program.
  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Board and the Administrators and Supervisors Association (2015-2016).
  • Educational Facilities Master Plan for 2015 - the master plan is a planning tool dealing with the school system's projected facility needs. The master plan has to be submitted to the state of Maryland by July 1, 2015.
  • FY 16 Budget
  • New Superintendent - Approved 4-year contract for Mr. John D. Ewald.
  • Personnel items
  • Textbook adoption - Psychology in Everyday Life, 3rd Edition, 2014, Myers and DeWall, Worth Publishers.
  • Overnight Field Trip request - SkillsUSA students to participate in the SkillsUSA national competition in Louisville, Kentucky from June 22, 2015 to June 26, 2015.

  Greensboro Elementary School Pre-Kindergarten students led the Pledge of Allegiance at the beginning of the June 2 Board of Education meeting.






The Colonel Richardson High School Baseball team was recognized for being Bayside and Regional Champions. During the regular season, the baseball team went undefeated. Members of the team are pictured with Board Vice President James Newcomb Jr. and Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel. The team includes: Tyloer Welty, Christopher Smith, Connor Garvey, Garrett Nepert, Derek Scheuler, Jacob Hicks, Jonathan Gosnell, Zachary Hall, Jacob Zebron, Kevin Taylor, Caleb Johnson, Jaret Bennett, Michael Shockley, Dylan Nepert, Jonathan Buchanan, Shawne Bowens and Andrew Sedgewick. Coaches are: Dan Mangum, Ray Bennett, John Buchanan, Neil Lambert and Ryan Blanchfield.

The Colonel Richardson High School Softball team was also recognized for being Regional Champions. Members of the team are pictured with Board Vice President James Newcomb Jr. and Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel. Members of the team are: Brittany Neudeck, Annie Harris, Morgan Willoughby, Jayna Turner, Camryn Plugge, Katelyn Patrick, Kaylie Moore, Corryn Johnson, Gabriella Galante, Emily Cox, Melody Cerro, Jazmine Brooks and Madison Bee. The coaches are: Brett Ireland, Jordan Glessner, Stephanie Garey and Dale Harrison.

Members of the North Caroline High School Softball team are pictured with Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel and board member Louise Cheek. The team were Bayside Champions. The team members are: Kendall Dixon, Megan Robbins, Breanna Bishop, Haily Sears, Aubree Strange, Mackenzie Short, Clara Thornton, Alison Ward, Mackenzie Werner, Sarah Mist, Julie Saathoff, Brittany Brown, Melanie Hunter, Jasmyn Robinson and Emily Ward. Also pictured is one of the teams coaches Curtis Short. The other coaches are Renee Barringer, Jody Ward, Henry Ward, Stacey Seward and Stephanie Bunce.

Two members of the North Caroline High School Girls Track and Field team were among those on hand to be recognized for being 2015 Bayside and Regional Champions. Members of the team are: Emily Bowdle, Abigail Connolly, Jalynn Crawford, Brooke Dodd, Kelsey Dusock, Adeline Dyson, Ashley Hall, Meghan Hall, Megan Hannegan, Azalie Haro, Savannah Herbert, Morgan Hewitt, Jessica Hotsko, Taylor Knight, Sarah McKee, Da'Mia Phillips, Kathryn Saathoff, Kesley Sloan, Christine Sturm, Ayana Swain, and Elizabeth Walston.


Some members of the North Caroline High School Boys Track and Field team were recognized for being 2015 Bayside and Regional Champions. Team members are: Derrick Adams, Joseph Adams, David Bailey, Anton Black, Trequon Boyce, Brady Fitzgerald, Robert Calloway, Ja'mion Franklin, Christopher Hale, Kenneth Jackson, Mitchell Karo, Donald Macer, Freddie Martinez, Kalil McCray, Dakota Murray, John Oross, Jesus Reyna-Lopez, Devin Robinson, Marcus Rose, Troy Smith, Rodney Thomas, William Thomas, Melvin Umana, Nicholas Zinkand, and Melvin Williams.

The North Caroline High School Future Business Leaders of America team was recognized for having state winners. Members of the team include: Connor McCormick, Hunter Joseph, William Fox, Nick Koski, Brett Carmean, Nick Yost, Kelsey Dilling, Zac Sard, Sumaiya Johnson, Morgan Jones, Frank Clay and Makayla Mullikin. Honorable mention are: Katie DePasquale, Retu Dominic, Alyssa George, Yasmeen Johnson and Brittany Brown.

Students from Colonel Richardson High School and North Caroline High School were recognized for providing artwork for notecards for the Maryland Association of Boards of Education. John Garrett Johansen, Katelyn Patrick and Christy Thomas from CRHS had artwork chosen and Nicholas Koski from NCHS had his artwork chosen.


Other students recognized, but not present at the board meeting were:

  • Maryland Masters Award - Celebrating Maryland's Achievements and Innovations through the Arts - Abby Wroten, NCHS
  • Dragon Fly Music Festival 2015 Poster Contest Winner - Luke Martin, NCHS
  • CRHS Track - Isiah Bolden for winning the state long jump and triple jump titles at the Class1A State Track & Field Competition.