Board of Education Recognizes Teacher of the Year

The Caroline County Teacher of the Year for 2015-2016, Cheryl Carmean was recognized during the May Board of Education meeting, on May 5. Mrs. Carmean was among several recognitions during the May meeting.

Cheryl Carmean, a physics teacher at North Caroline High School was recognized as the 2015-2016 Caroline County Teacher of the Year. From left is James Newcomb, board vice president; Walter Palmer III, board member; Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel; Carmean; Tolbert Rowe, board president and board members George Abner and Louise Cheek.


Mary Jo Kerr, a sixth grade language arts teacher at Colonel Richardson Middle School, was a finalist for Caroline County Teacher of the Year. She is joined by Milton Nagel, interim superintendent of schools and Tolbert Rowe, board president.







Federalsburg Elementary School talent showcase students led the Pledge of Allegiance at the beginning of the public session of the May board meeting.





The Board recognized students who were named 2015 Carson Scholar Winners. First time scholars were Corinne Webb, 6th grade, Lockerman Middle School; and Kathryn France, 9th grade, Colonel Richardson High School. Recognized scholars were: Jeanette Banko, 9th grade, Colonel Richardson High School (5th year); Ivy Buda, 7th grade, Lockerman Middle School (3rd year); Hunter Geisel, 11th grade, North Caroline High School (7th year); Rebecca Gibbons, 8th grade, Lockerman Middle School (4th year); Connor McCormick, 11th grade, North Caroline High School (7th year); and Paul Sutton, 9th grade, North Caroline High School (2nd year).



 Jaylynne Walls, a Greensboro Elementary School student, was recognized for being selected to carry the Caroline County Flag for the Maryland Day Celebration in St. Mary's County.






Two North Caroline High School students were recognized for serving as 2015 Student Pages to the Maryland General Assembly. Pictured with Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel and board president Tolbert Rowe are students Omar al-Ghusbi and Erin Bradley.





  Two Colonel Richardson High School students were recognized for receiving recognition from the Maryland State Deaprtment of Education for their exemplary service to the community and dedication to applying academic skills through service learning projects. Cynthia Lednum logged 1,369.5 service learning hours and Kristen Cabrera had 1,274 service learning hours.




Two Caroline Career and Technology Center students were recognized for participating in the SkillsUSA State Finals and earning the title of State Champions for Best Team for Web Design. Jayson Herlth and Nick Koski will be representing the state of Maryland when they advance to the SkillsUSA National Competition on June 22-26 in Louisville, Kentucky. SkillsUSA is a career technology student organization preparing students for the work force.





  The Board recognized students who participated and placed in the 2014-2015 Laws of Life/Character Counts Esssay Contest. Award winners were: Sunyata Courie, Lockerman Middle School (The Albert Kennerly Character Counts Award/Overall Contest Winner of a $2,500 scholarship); Tanner Strong, Colonel Richardson Middle School; Jeanette Banko, Colonel Richardson High School, Ryan LeCates, North Caroline High School (overall high school winner).



The Board heard reports from the following:

  • Mr. Chad Shelly, 2014-2015 Caroline County Teacher of the Year, gave a report on his activities and experiences during the school year.
  • Caroline County Sheriff Randy Bounds and his staff gave an update on the 2014-2015 School Resource Officers Program.
  • Ms. Suzanne Jones, MIS System Coordinator, gave an update on the 2015-2016 enrollment projections.
  • Finance report from Comptroller Erin Thornton


The Board approved the following items:

  • 2015-2016 Board meeting schedule
  • Personnel items
  • Overnight field trip request for the North Caroline High School Future Business Leaders of America national conference in Chicago from June 28 to July 3.

The Board of Education also discussed the FY 2016 Operating Budget.