February Board Notes

  Preston Elementary School students led the Pledge of Allegiance during the February 3, 2015 Caroline County Board of Education meeting.





The Board of Education recognized the Colonel Richardson Middle School LEGO Robotic Team winners. Pictured with Board President Tolbert Rowe and Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel are team members: Sam Arnold, Karl Banks, Thomas Cheezum, Davonte Douglas, Remy Mangum, Lane Scharch, Brooke Willoughby, Skyla Butler, Will Pincus, Larsen Vanofferen and Sarah Wright. Also pictured are teachers Rob Honer and mentors Christopher and Jeanette Banko. Not pictured are members: Tristen Hrobar, Emma Moore, Jabraih Luke, Aidan Richardson, Dominik Lynch, Jalyn Stafford, and Emily VonDenBosch.

  The Board of Education recognized the LEGO Robotics Team from Lockerman Middle School. Members present were: Nicholas Anderson, Karlie Merson, Mason Voorhees, Chad Smith, Logan Smith, Speedy Christopher and Luke Smith. Team members not pictured are: Jaxon Scott, Dakota Walton, and Lance Maston. The team is pictured with teachers Melissa Bradley and Trinia Honer, along with Board President Tolbert Rowe and Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel.


Bus driver Ruby Gingell was recognized by the Board of Education for her actions during a bus accident on December 17, 2014. Supervisor of Transportation Robert Jester explains what happened and how Ms. Gingell kept the elementary school students calm after a car ran into the back of the bus. Ms. Gingell's bus was stopped to let a student off the bus, and Ms. Gingell was able to grab the student before the student fell off the bus due to the impact of the car rear ending the bus.



  The Board of Education recognized Lockerman Middle school teacher Kathyrn Belmonte for receiving her Nationa Board Certification. Ms. Belmonte teaches at Lockerman Middle School and received her certificate in mathematics/early adolscence.





The Board of Education heard reports on the following:

  • Supervisor of Minority Achievement Dr. Andrea Berry-Opher gave a report on the schedule of activities and lessons students will participate in to celebrate African American History Month.
  • Mr. Brian Speiring, supervisor of human resources, gave a report on the upcoming 2014-2015 teacher recruitment schedule.
  • Board President Tolbert Rowe updated the board of pending legislation on education issues.
  • Comptroller Erin Thornton presented the monthly finance report.


The Board of Education approved the following items:

  • 2015-2016 School Year Calendar -  The calendar has a start date of August 18 for teachers and August 24 for students. The proposed ending date for students is June 8 and June 9 for teachers. The calendar includes four (4) days in the year that will be a two hour delayed opening for elementary students only. The dates of the delayed opening are: September 23, 2015; December 2, 2015; March 2, 2016 and May 4, 2016. The delayed openings will be used by elementary teachers as planning time. This will bring the elementary teachers in line with the same amount of planning time secondary teachers currently have.
  • FY 2016 Preliminary Budget Request - The budget requests $12.5 million from the Caroline County Commissioners (an increase of $137,889 from last year). The county school system has a preliminary estimate of $48.4 million coming from the state of Maryland. This would be an increase of $1 million. The total budget is at $62.7 million, which Interim Superintendent Milton Nagel said is basically holding the line from last year. "This is not a year where we can add much," said Mr. Nagel. The budget has to be submitted to the county commissioners for their approval. The school system still does not have final budget numbers from the state.
  • Facilities & Grounds Improvement Grant Policy - This policy will be used to ensure funds appropriated by the Board of Education are properly and fairly awarded to community organizations to help improve the school system facilties and grounds.


  • The Board discussed a new policy, the Aspiring Teacher Scholarship, which would award an academic for a Caroline County high school graduate who wishes to become a teacher.